Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Charles Taylor Prize gets new name and $10,000 secondary award

Author Andrew Preston accepts the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction for his book Sword of the Spirit, Shield of Faith, at the King Edward Hotel in Toronto, March 4 , 2013.

J.P. MOCZULSKI/The Globe and Mail

The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction has a new name and a new secondary award.

Organizers say the $25,000 honour will now be known as the RBC Taylor Prize.

It will also offer a $10,000 purse for an emerging Canadian literary non-fiction writer, between the ages of 18 and 35, as chosen by the winner of the main award.

Story continues below advertisement

The new name reflects the sponsor, RBC Wealth Management.

The prize, which honours Canadian literary non-fiction authors, also has a new logo as it enters its 13th award cycle.

Later this week, the prize will announce its three-person jury and its 2014 long list.

The winners will be announced March 10 in Toronto.

The prize was established in 1998 in honour of late non-fiction writer Charles Taylor.

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨