Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Gary Barwin, Amy Jones among Leacock Medal finalists

Gary Barwin is up for yet another literary honour after making the short list for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour.

The finalists for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour, which celebrates the best comedic book published in Canada each year, were announced on Wednesday.

The nominees are Drew Hayden Taylor for his short fiction collection Take Us to Your Chief and Other Stories; Amy Jones for her novel We're All In This Together; and Gary Barwin for his novel Yiddish for Pirates, which was also a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

The winner of the prize, who receives $15,000, will be announced at a gala dinner in Orillia, Ont., on June 10.

Story continues below advertisement

This year marks the prize's 70th anniversary, making it one of the oldest literary awards in Canada. It was founded and named in honour of the renowned Canadian humorist and author of Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town.

Recent winners of the Leacock Medal include Patrick deWitt, Trevor Cole, Terry Fallis and Susan Juby, who won last year's prize for her novel Republic of Dirt.

Report an error
About the Author
Books Editor

Mark Medley is the Globe and Mail’s Books Editor. Prior to joining the paper he spent more than seven years at the National Post, where he served as an arts reporter and books editor. More


The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨