Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Globe writer Ian Brown a finalist for Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize

Globe and Mail feature writer Ian Brown.

John Barber/John Barber

Globe and Mail feature writer Ian Brown is one of five finalists for the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Non-Fiction, it was announced Wednesday.

He is nominated for his book Sixty: A Diary of My Sixty-First Year: The Beginning of the End or the End of the Beginning?, which was also a finalist for the RBC Taylor Prize earlier this year. The jury hailed Mr. Brown as "that rare, brave writer who is willing – and able – not only to dig deeply and honestly into his own psyche, dreams, fears, and fantasies, but then to write about them in ways that are both intensely personal and also wisely universal."

Historian and author Ross King, a previous finalist for this prize and two-time winner of the Governor-General's Literary Award for Non-Fiction, is nominated for his just-released book Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies. In their citation, the jury wrote that "King poignantly captures not only the human drama of one of the world's greatest artists as he rages against – and towards – his life's end even as he creates his most ambitious project, but he also seamlessly weaves that personal story into the larger fabric of world and art history."

Story continues below advertisement

Toronto-born, Jerusalem-ased writer Matti Friedman is nominated for his military memoir Pumpkinflowers: An Israeli Soldier's Story, a book the jury called "a haunting meditation on the very rationale of war. Tragic, graceful, and as provocative as it is poetic, Pumpkinflowers is a brilliant achievement."

The short list also includes two first-time Vancouver authors: Sonja Larsen for her unusual childhood memoir Red Star Tattoo: My Life as a Girl Revolutionary, which the jury praised as "courageous and compelling," and Deborah Campbell for A Disappearance in Damascus: A Story of Friendship and Survival in the Shadow of War, about her search for her Iraqi fixer in Syria after the fall of Saddam Hussein, which the jury said was written with "compelling prose, nuanced context, and intimate narration."

All five finalists – who are all published by Penguin Random House's various imprints – receive $5,000, while the winner takes home a total of $60,000. They were chosen by a jury consisting of writers Carolyn Abraham, Stephen Kimber and Emily Urquhart, who considered 95 titles for this year's prize.

The winner will be announced at the Writers' Trust Awards ceremony on Nov. 2.

Last year's prize went to Rosemary Sullivan for Stalin's Daughter: The Extraordinary and Tumultuous Life of Svetlana Alliluyeva.

Report an error Licensing Options
About the Author
Books Editor

Mark Medley is the Globe and Mail’s Books Editor. Prior to joining the paper he spent more than seven years at the National Post, where he served as an arts reporter and books editor. More


The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at