Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Ian Williams named winner of Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Ian Williams

Luke Khomeriki/Writers' Union of Canada

Toronto author Ian Williams is the 2011 winner of the Danuta Gleed Literary Award, given annually by the Writers' Union of Canada to the author of the best first English-language collection of short fiction published in a calendar year. Williams took the $10,000 prize, awarded Thursday, for Not Anyone's Anything, published by Freehand Books/Broadview Press. A teacher at Fitchburg State University in Mass., Williams was lauded by the WUC's three-person jury for being "fresh, funny and intelligent," with a knack for crafting "gripping, convincing dialogue."

Williams' collection was one of five titles short-listed for the prize, now in its 15th year. Two runners-up were named, each of whom receives $500:  Victoria's Daniel Griffin (for Stopping for Strangers) and Jessica Westhead of Toronto (And Also  Sharks). The award is named after an Ottawa short-story writer who died in 1996.

Report an error
About the Author

James More


The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at