Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Who made it? See the full Polaris Music Prize long list

Calgary pop duo Tegan and Sara are among the artists who have made the 40-album Polaris Music Prize long list.

Lindsey Byrnes

Calgary pop duo Tegan and Sara, Montreal art-rockers Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Toronto new-wave band Metric are among the artists who have made the 40-album Polaris Music Prize long list.

The list of contenders was announced Thursday in Montreal.

It will be narrowed to a 10-album short list on July 16, with the winner to be announced at a performance gala Sept. 23 in Toronto.

Story continues below advertisement

The diverse long list features a number of artists being recognized by Polaris for the first time.

Among those newcomers are Montreal singer/songwriter Mac DeMarco, indie-R&B act Rhye (which features Toronto-raised vocalist Mike Milosh) and Winnipeg metal outfit KEN Mode.

Other acts on the list include: the Besnard Lakes, Louis-Jean Cormier, Kid Koala, Majical Cloudz and Purity Ring from Montreal; Toronto's Evening Hymns, Lindi Ortega, Hayden, Metz and Daniel Romano; and Hannah Georgas, A.C. Newman and Young Galaxy from Vancouver.

Dan Snaith, the Dundas, Ont.-reared composer who won the 2008 Polaris for Caribou's Andorra, nabbed a long list spot for his Jiaolong project, recorded as Daphni.

Other prior winners of the $30,000 Polaris include Feist, Arcade Fire and Karkwa.

The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

  • A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
  • Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d'Amérique du Noir
  • ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak
  • The Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO
  • Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage
  • Daphni – JIAOLONG
  • Mac DeMarco – 2
  • Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk
  • Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas
  • Godspeed You! Black Emperor – 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
  • Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II
  • Jim Guthrie – Takes Time
  • Hayden – Us Alone
  • Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
  • KEN mode – Entrench
  • Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues
  • Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox
  • Pierre Lapointe – Punkt
  • Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner
  • Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis
  • Corb Lund – Cabin Fever
  • The Luyas – Animator
  • Majical Cloudz – Impersonator
  • Metric – Synthetica
  • Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me
  • AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets
  • Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night
  • Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops
  • Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse
  • Purity Ring – Shrines
  • Rah Rah – The Poet's Dead
  • Rhye – Woman
  • Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me
  • Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
  • Suuns – Images du futur
  • Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
  • Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake
  • Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
  • Young Galaxy – Ultramarine
Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨