Skip to main content

J. S. Bach: Six suites for solo cello

  • Winona Zelenka, cello
  • Marquis Classics

Canadian cellist Winona Zelenka gives Bach's solo cello suites a stylish ease that we don't often hear on modern cello. Sarabandes sound like graceful dances, not constipated sacred cows, and Zelenka's modest vibrato and tasteful use of open strings give her access to affects that sometimes get left behind - reflection, say, or melancholy - for more intense ones, especially in slow movements. Fast movements are exciting, but they're not cliff-hangers. They're dances, after all. And passion isn't zealotry, applied like a smear of varnish, but something more fleeting or revelatory. Fans of Yo Yo Ma might not like these recordings, but fans of J. S. Bach will.

Report an error
Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at