Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

TV: Five shows worth watching tonight: Sept. 4

Your select viewing guide for Tuesday, Sept. 4

1 of 5

REALITY High School Moms TLC, 7 p.m. ET; 4 p.m. PT This TLC series is filmed at Denver’s Florence Crittenton High School, where the student body is made up entirely of pregnant girls and teen mothers. As might be expected, each day is a new challenge as young moms try to balance homework with diaper changes. In tonight’s first episode, a student frets that she might go into labour on prom night. In the second show, a first-time mom attempts to rebuild her relationship with her own mother – who is not pleased with being a thirtysomething grandmother.

2 of 5

REALITY All the Right Moves MuchMusic, 8 p.m. ET; 5 p.m. PT Sure, dance is a beautiful art form, but can you make a living at it? Debuting tonight, this new “docu-series” from the U.S. Oxygen Network follows the lives of four male dancers looking to bump up their careers to the next level. The central figure is So You Think You Can Dance choreographer Travis Wall, who joins forces with his fellow hoofers Teddy, Nick and Kyle to form the L.A.-based dance company Shaping Sound. The business gets off to a bumpy start in tonight’s opener as the newcomer dance protégé Taja questions Travis’s authority and fellow SYTYCD alumni Jaime tries to land a spot in the new company.

3 of 5

TRAVEL Billy Connolly: Journey to the Edge of the World APTN, 9 p.m. ET; 8 p.m. PT You’re a brave soul, Billy Connolly. The Scottish comedian and actor attempts to cross the treacherous Northwest Passage from the Atlantic to the Pacific in this offbeat program first broadcast on British television. The epic trek begins with Connolly landing in Nova Scotia and immediately heading north to Newfoundland. While on the Rock, he makes stops in several towns where European immigrants settled centuries ago and visits the graveyard where victims of the Titanic are buried. He also meets several hospitable Newfoundlanders who took in airline passengers stranded by the 9/11 tragedy.

ITV

4 of 5

DRAMA World Without End Showcase, 10 p.m. ET; 7 p.m. PT Settle in for another showy costume drama. This followup to the 2010 miniseries The Pillars of the Earth is also based on a Ken Follett novel and introduces a new cast of characters fighting for power and survival during times of natural disaster and war. The saga opens in 14th-century England with the devious Queen Isabella (Aure Atika) disposing of her ineffectual husband Edward II and installing their son Edward III (Blake Ritson) on the throne. Complicit in the Queen’s power move is the righteous knight Sir Thomas (Ben Chaplin) who flees to the town of Kingsbridge while the new King leads England into the Hundred Years War. Meanwhile, everybody has to deal with a little problem known as the “Black Death.”

Story continues below advertisement

5 of 5

MOVIE Somebody Up There Likes Me TCM, midnight ET; 9 p.m. PT Even in the wrong role, the late Paul Newman had undeniable movie-star cachet. In this 1956 biopic, the blue-eyed actor was wildly miscast as real-life boxer Rocky Graziano, but still delivered a knockout of a performance. The story recounts Graziano’s rough-and-tumble upbringing on the streets of New York and his early brushes with the law. Rocky’s redemption comes with the love and support of a good woman named Norma (Pier Angeli) and his new career as a professional boxer – but what’s a guy to do when they ask him to start throwing fights?

Report an error