Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

All's fair in love and wardrobe: Old-timey, romantic summer fashions are back

The summer carnival, circa the 19th century, has come to town. And it’s bringing lacy frocks, fine millinery and a charmingly romantic approach to fashion with it.

1 of 4

The belle of the fair opts for shade when enjoying her afternoon tea. Lace Gown by BCBGMaxAzria, $625 (www.bcbg.com) Hat by David Dunkley Fine Millinery, $265.00 (www.DavidDunkley.me) Multi pearl necklace by Cezanne, $20.00 at The Bay (www.thebay.com). Long pearl necklace by Cezanne, $28.00 at The Bay (www.thebay.com) Pearl bracelets by Cezanne, $25.00 at The Bay (www.thebay.com) Arianna Shoes by Dr.Martens, $179.99 (www.drmartenscanada.ca). Earrings by Cocoa Jewelry $25, at Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Boutiques (www.shoppersdrugmart.ca) Decor: Cotton-blend striped fabric, $29.99 per yard at Designer Fabrics (www.designerfabrics.ca). Polycarbonate chair, $459 at The Art Shoppe (www.theartshoppe.com). Lucite accent table, $1,850 at Ribbehege & Azevedo (www.ribbehegeandazevedo.com). Ceramic teapot, $49.95 at Putti (www.putti.ca). Wedgwood tea cup and saucer, $50 at William Ashley (www.williamashley.com). Silver teaspoon, $15 at Cynthia Findlay Antiques (www.cynthiafindlay.com). Linen napkins, $53.95 per set of four at Williams-Sonoma (www.williams-sonoma.ca).

Photography by Tintype Studio/Fashion direction and styling by Corey Ng for P1M.ca /Hair and makeup

2 of 4

Mirror image: Who says life on the road has to be harsh? At this fair, creature comforts are de rigueur. Pavoni dress, price on request through www.pavonicollection.com. Shoes, $125 at Town Shoes (www.townshoes.com). Diamond drop earrings, $5,200, Edwardian crystal necklace, $1,250 at Cynthia Findlay Antiques (www.cynthiafindlay.com). Decor: Sheer linen drapery, $91 at Pottery Barn (www.potterybarn.ca). Curtain tie-backs, $9.99 each at Designer Fabrics (www.designerfabrics.ca). Mirrored vanity, $1,795, velvet stool, $375, Persian rug, $4,725 at Elte (www.elte.com). The Vanity: Crystal bud vase, $45, hand mirror (part of six-piece set), $995 at Cynthia Findlay Antiques. Cire Turdon room spray, $195, glass box, $69.95 at Putti (www.putti.ca). Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf perfume, $125 at Holt Renfrew (www.holtrenfrew.com).

Photography by Tintype Studio/Fashion direction and styling by Corey Ng for P1M.ca /Hair and makeup

3 of 4

Shows of strength and athletic prowess are characteristic of many carnivals. See you down by the river! On her: Maje dress, $495, long pearl necklace by Cezanne, $28, pearl bracelets by Cezanne, $25 each at Hudson’s Bay (www.thebay.com). Earrings by Cocoa Jewelry, $25 at Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Boutiques (www.shoppersdrugmart.ca). Shoes, $125 at Town Shoes (www.townshoes.com). On him: Henley shirt, $55, pants, $74 at Banana Republic (www.bananarepublic.ca). Johnston & Murphy shoes, $225 at Town Shoes. Decor: Dog statue, $899, walnut pedestal, $799 at The Art Shoppe (www.theartshoppe.com). Painted wood paddle, from $220 through www.contactvoyageingco.com. Trophies, $695 and $795 at Cynthia Findlay Antiques (www.cynthiafindlay.com). Megaphone, $145 at Queen West Antique Centre (www.qwac.ca). Custom outdoor grass provifded by Andrew Richard Designs (www.andrewricharddesigns.com).

Photography by Tintype Studio/Fashion direction and styling by Corey Ng for P1M.ca /Hair and makeup

4 of 4

Cotton candy, tea and thee: On the midway, the potential for romance is ripe. On her: Lace Gown by BCBGMaxAzria, $625 (www.bcbg.com) Hat by David Dunkley Fine Millinery, $265.00 (www.DavidDunkley.me) Multi pearl necklace by Cezanne, $20.00 at The Bay (www.thebay.com). Long pearl necklace by Cezanne, $28.00 at The Bay (www.thebay.com) Pearl bracelets by Cezanne, $25.00 at The Bay (www.thebay.com) Arianna Shoes by Dr.Martens, $179.99 (www.drmartenscanada.ca). Earrings by Cocoa Jewelry $25, at Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Boutiques (www.shoppersdrugmart.ca) On him: Jacket by polo Ralph Lauren, $345 at Holt Renfrew (www.holtrenfrew.com). Pants by Banana Republic, $74.00 (www.bananarepublic.ca). Shirt by Boss Hugo Boss, $195.00 at Harry Rosen (www.harryrosen.com). Belt by Gap, $39.95 (www.gapcanada.ca). Shoes by Ted Baker, $265 (www.tedbaker.com).

Photography by Tintype Studio/Fashion direction and styling by Corey Ng for P1M.ca /Hair and makeup

Story continues below advertisement

Report an error
Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at privacy@globeandmail.com.