Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Five top looks from a surprising fashion hot spot

Styling by Andrew Sardone. Hair and makeup by Alex Valverde at Dominique Models (www.dominiquemodels.com).

1 of 5

Dramatic entrance
Many sojourns in Belgium’s second-largest city start at Antwerpen-Centraal Station, where this voluminous overcoat by Emmanuelle Lebas competes for attention with Clement Van Bogaert’s soaring iron-and-glass train shed. Adjoining the space is an equally grand waiting hall that leads onto Astrid Square. Emmanuelle Lebas drawstring coat, price on request through www.emmanuellelebas.com. WeberHodelFeder lace-up oxfords, €695 through www.weberhodelfeder.com.

Jean-François Carly/The Globe and Mail

2 of 5

Mas appeal
Like the view of the city and port from Museum aan de Stroom (MAS), Damien Ravn’s neoprene vest with oversized pockets is in a class all by itself. Damien Ravn neoprene top, €915, sheer skirt, €280 through www.damienravn.tumblr.com. WeberHodelFeder lace-up derbies, €595 through www.weberhodelfeder.com.

Jean-François Carly/The Globe and Mail

3 of 5

On the markt
Surrounded by Antwerp’s iconic guild houses and imposing city hall, the statue in Grote Markt, its main square, depicts the mythical giant Antigoon. During the summer, locals sometimes cool off with a dip in the fountain at its base. Van Hongo gauze vest, €230, silk camisole, €245 at Salon Van Hongo (www.vanhongo.com). Carolina Apolonia necklace made of old book covers, €595 at Beyond Fashion (www.beyondfashion.be).

Jean-François Carly/The Globe and Mail

4 of 5

Zoo story
One of the stately stone lions that mark the entrance to Antwerp’s zoo serves as an ornate counterpoint to Wim Bruynooghe’s minimal separates cut from athletic textiles. A green oasis in the middle of the city, the zoo dates to 1843. Wim Bruynooghe stretch jersey bodysuit, €492, jogging maxi skirt, €390 through www.wimbruynooghe.be. Emmanuelle Lebas slingback platforms, price on request through www.emmanuellelebas.com.

Jean-François Carly/The Globe and Mail

Story continues below advertisement

5 of 5

Bell curve
Even when worn with a pair of sporty brogues, designer Nathalie Bries’s made-to-order gown, accented with miniature sequins, makes a big impression on the circular staircase twisting through Den Bell, home of Antwerp’s administrative offices. Nathalie D’Anvers silk-jersey dress, price on request through www.nathaliedanvers.com. Tine De Ruysser bracelet made from Mongolian banknotes, €330 at Beyond Fashion (www.beyondfashion.be). WeberHodelFeder Velcro brogues, €495 through www.weberhodelfeder.com.

Jean-François Carly/The Globe and Mail

Report an error