Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Alberta's Famous Five named honorary senators

Alberta's Famous Five have been posthumously made honorary senators, reports the CBC.

The Senate voted this week to bestow the recognition on Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney and Irene Parlby.

In 1929, the quintet won a landmark court ruling that recognized women as persons and allowed them to sit in the appointed Senate.

Story continues below advertisement

The idea to name the women honorary senators came from Calgary journalist Catherine Ford.

"I thought, wouldn't that be just gracious of Canada as a country to say, 'These five women did so much for the women of Canada. Let's give them a singular honour,' " said Ms. Ford, a retired national columnist for the Canwest News Service.

Ford said she was "stunned" and "so pleased for women" when she heard the five were being recognized for their work.

It's the first time the Senate has named anyone an honorary senator.

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at