Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Newfoundland Premier shuffles cabinet ahead of successor’s confirmation

Tom Marshall, shown Jan. 22, 2014, is Newfoundland and Labrador’s interim Premier.


Premier Tom Marshall of Newfoundland and Labrador shuffled his cabinet Thursday, two months before a Progressive Conservative convention is expected to confirm the leadership of his successor, Frank Coleman.

Marshall said he is interim premier and when asked by reporters whether Coleman had any input on the shuffle, he said that wasn't the case.

"You shouldn't leave ministers in a department for too long a period of time," Marshall said. "I think it's good to bring a fresh perspective and that's what I wanted to do."

Story continues below advertisement

Marshall said he had planned a major shuffle earlier but was waiting to see if cabinet ministers would step down to seek the Tory party leadership. None did. "It just took awhile to get around to it because of different circumstances."

The changes see Susan Sullivan leave her post as health minister to become innovation minister, a position she previously held. Paul Davis, the former minister of child, youth and family services, will take over the health portfolio.

In recent months, there have been shifting messages about the contentious issue of radiation services for a new hospital planned for Corner Brook on Newfoundland's west coast. But Marshall said that had nothing to do with booting Sullivan from health.

Sullivan has for months said the population does not support such services. But Marshall has recently changed tack, saying the issue is being studied.

And Coleman, set to be coronated as the uncontested new Tory leader July 5 and sworn in as premier soon after, has indicated the new hospital should have radiation treatments. "New information comes," Marshall said. "So that's not necessarily a difference of agreement. It's just that new information came to our attention."

Liberal Opposition Leader Dwight Ball said Thursday that the shuffle was unnecessary and a waste of public money.

Coleman must call an election under provincial law within 12 months of being sworn in as premier.

Story continues below advertisement


The new cabinet ministers announced include:

  • Clyde Jackman: minister of child, youth and family services
  • Susan Sullivan: minister of innovation, business and rural development
  • Darin King: minister of education
  • Terry French: minister of justice
  • Paul Davis: minister of health and community services
  • Dan Crummell: minister responsible for the labour relations agency
  • Sandy Collins: minister of tourism, culture and recreation
Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨