Skip to main content

This gallery traces the fortunes of the leaders of Canada's Liberal Party from its beginnings, through its greatest triumphs to its crushing defeats.

1 of 12

Alexander Mackenzie (circa 1873). Canada's second Prime Minister from 1873 to 1878.

The Globe and Mail files

2 of 12

EDWARD BLAKE. 1875 Second Premier of Ontario. He became leader of the federal Liberal Party in 1880 but lost the elections of 1882 and 1887. He resigned the leadership in 1887 - the only Liberal leader who never became prime minister. Hon. Dominick Edward Blake, MP. (Bruce, S.) b. Dec. 13, 1833 - d. Mar. 1, 1912. Dated taken: Feb. 1875, Ottawa. Credit: William James Topley Studio/Library and Archives Canada. PA-025402 NB: SMALL FILE SIZE

William James Topley Studio/Library and Archives

3 of 12

Sir Wilfrid Laurier (shown), Canada's first French Canadian prime minister pronouced some 93 years ago that the future was ours. Canadians heading to the polls next month might need some reminding this could be the last federal election of the 20th century.


4 of 12

William Lyon Mackenzie King, portrait. c. early 1940s

Library of Congress/Library of Congress

Story continues below advertisement

5 of 12

Photo of former Prime Minister of Canada, Louis St. Laurent (CP PHOTO) undated.

Canadian Press

6 of 12

Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson, 1973. (CP Photo)

Canadian Press

7 of 12

Canadian Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau addresses media 23 October 1974 in Paris in front of a Canadian flag. The former Canadian premier died at his home in Montreal 28 September 2000 at the age of 80, leaving behind a legacy as a charismatic politician who stood firm on bringing the nation together. AFP PHOTO/FILES


8 of 12

Prime Minister John Turner gestures while being sworn in as Canada's 17th prime Minister in Ottawa on June 30, 1984 CP Photo

Canadian Press

9 of 12

Edward Regan/Edward Regan/The Globe and Mail

10 of 12

Canadian Prime Minister Paul Martin addresses supporters at his campaign headquarters, 23 January 2006. Martin has decided to represent his riding but will not lead the liberal party into the next election after losing the election to the conservative party of Canada. AFP PHOTO/PETER MCCABE (Photo credit should read Peter McCabe/AFP/Getty Images)

Peter McCabe/Peter McCabe/AFP/Getty Images

11 of 12

Federal Liberal leader Stephane Dion speaks during an interview on Parliament Hill following Prime Minister Stephen Harper's federal election call in Ottawa Sunday, Sept. 7,2008. Canadians will vote in a federal election Tuesday Oct. 14, 2008. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick

Sean Kilpatrick/Sean Kilpatrick/The Canadian Press

12 of 12

Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff talks to reporters after chairing a meeting of his caucus on Parliament Hill in Ottawa Wednesday February 16, 2011. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Fred Chartrand


Report an error
Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at