Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

What to do in Toronto, Feb. 7 to 14: See Patti Smith's photos, listen to some romantic jazz and more

U.S. artist Patti Smith performs on stage at Burgtheater in Vienna May 30, 2011. REUTERS/Herwig Prammer (AUSTRIA - Tags: ENTERTAINMENT)

© Herwig Prammer / Reuters/REUTERS

VALENTINE'S DAY

A Jazz Valentine: Jackie Richardson and Micah Barnes Feb. 14. Hugh's Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Alex Pangman & Her Alleycats Feb. 14. Cherry Street Restaurant, 416-461-5111.

Story continues below advertisement

Les Coquettes's Blush Feb. 14. Revival, lescoquettes.com.

Heartbreak Karaoke Feb. 14. Jun Jun, shedoesthecity.com.

Hart House Orchestra: Violins And Valentine's Day Feb. 14. Free. Hart House Great Hall, harthouse.ca.

Vive L'amour Singers Feb. 14 (noon). Free. Four Seasons Centre, coc.ca.

ART and MUSEUMS

Patti Smith: Camera Solo Feb. 9 to May 19. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Look Again: Picasso and Man - The 1964 Exhibition To Feb. 17. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Story continues below advertisement

Zhang Yaxin: Model Opera To Feb. 23. Stephen Bulger Gallery, 416-504-0575 or bulgergallery.com.

Stefan Sagmeister: The Happy Show To March 3. Design Exchange, 416-363-6121 or dx.org.

Luminescence: The Silver of Peru To March 9. University of Toronto Art Centre, 416-978-1838 or utac.utoronto.ca.

Simple Present, Future Anterior To March 16. Susan Hobbs Gallery, 416-504-3699 or susanhobbs.com.

Are You Alright? New Art From Britain To March 24. Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art, 416-395-0067 or mocca.ca.

Transformation by Fire To April 28. Gardiner Museum 416-586-8080 or gardinermuseum.on.ca.

Story continues below advertisement

Human Rights Human Wrongs To April 14. Ryerson Image Centre, 416-979-5164 or ryerson.ca/ric/.

Beat Nation: Art, Hip Hop and Aboriginal Culture To May 5. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

CONCERTS

Lady Gaga Feb. 8 and 9. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Paul Anka Feb. 9. Sony Centre, 1-855-872-7669 or sonycentre.ca.

Canadian Opera Company: La clemenza di Tito To Feb. 22. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

Canadian Opera Company: Tristan und Isolde To Feb. 23. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

TSO: Beethoven Symphony No. 9. Feb. 13, 15 and 16. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4255 or masseyhall.com.

The Tragically Hip Feb. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

CLUBS

Ariane Moffatt Feb. 9. Rivoli, 416-596-1908 or rivoli.ca.

Yo La Tengo Feb. 9. Phoenix Concert Theatre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

We Walk the Line (Johnny Cash tribute), Feb. 9. Gladstone, gladstonehotel.com.

Nancy Dutra Feb. 10. The Mascot, 416-533-2888 or nancydutra.com.

Chloe Charles Feb. 13. Revival, 416-535-7888 or http://guestli.st/142446.

Mo Kenny Feb. 13. Rivoli, 416-596-1908 or rivoli.ca.

Rival Sons Feb. 15. Lee's Palace, ticketfly.com.

THEATRE

Do You Want What I Have Got? A Craigslist Cantata To March 3. Factory Studio Theatre, 416-504-9971 or factorytheatre.ca.

A Woman of No Importance To Feb. 9. $20. Alumnae Theatre, 416-364-4170 or alumnaetheatre.com.

The Amorous Adventures of Anatol To Feb. 10. Tarragon Theatre Mainspace, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

The Penelopiad To Feb. 10. Buddies in Bad Times, 416-975-8555 or nightwoodtheatre.net.

Cowboy Mouth To Feb. 14. Cameron House, heartinhandtheatre.com or brownpapertickets.

Shakespeare's Nigga To Feb. 23. Theatre Passe Muraille Mainspace, 416-504-7529 or obsidiantheatre.com.

Every Letter Counts To Feb. 24. Factory Theatre, 416-504-9971 or factorytheatre.ca.

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead To March 2. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Clybourne Park Feb. 12 to March 3. Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

DANCE

Bharati: The Wonder That Is India Feb. 9 and 10. Sony Centre, 1-855-872-7669 or sonycentre.ca.

Skin Tight Outta Sight Rebel Burlesque: Be Mein Valentine! Feb. 13 and 15. Gladstone Hotel, eventbrite.com.

From the House of Mirth Feb. 14 to 24. Citadel, 416-364-8011 or colemanlemieux.com.

COMEDY

ALTdot Comedy Lounge Feb. 11. Rivoli, 416-596-1908 or altdotcomedylounge.com.

Ah Hell…Let's Talk!: A Comedy Show in Support of Mental Health Issues Feb. 12. Rustic Owl Cafe, 416-466-9651.

LITERARY and LECTURE

Johannes Debus: Conducting the Music of Tristan und Isolde. Feb. 11. Arts and Letters Club, torontowagner@yahoo.com or 416-529-5883.

Storytelling: Tales Of... Feb. 11. Rustic Owl Cafe, 416-466-9651.

Adventures with Sherlock Holmes To March 10. Toronto Reference Library, 416-393-7131 or torontopubliclibrary.ca.

FILM

Cinema Kabuki Feb. 9 to 10. TIFF Bell Lightbox, 416-599-8433 or jftor.org.

The White Haired Girl Feb. 9 (3 p.m.). Camera, 416-530-0011 or camerabar.ca.

It: Robert Bruce (Live Original Score) Feb. 10. Trinity-St. Paul's, robertbrucemusic.com

Leonard Cohen: I'm Your Man Feb. 10 (noon). Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, 416-637-3123 or bloorcinema.com.

Searching For Sugarman Feb. 12. Fox Theatre, 416-691-7330 or foxtheatre.ca.

EVENTS

Lunarfest Feb. 8 to 10. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Toronto Sportsmen's Show To Feb 10. Direct Energy Centre, torontosportshow.ca.

From Burgundy To Bordeaux: The Wines Of France Feb. 13. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca.

Winterfolk Feb. 14 to 17. Delta Chelsea Hotel, 416-595-1975 or winterfolk.com

Wavelength Music Festival Feb. 14 to 17. Various venues, wavelengthtoronto.com.

Canadian International Autoshow Feb. 15 to 24. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, autoshow.ca.

FAMILY

Model Railroad Show Feb. 9 and 10, 16 and 17. 171 East Liberty St., modelrailroadclub.com.

Harlem Globetrotters Feb. 9 and 10. Rogers Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Monkey Bunch Feb. 10, 17, 18 and 24. Drake Hotel, themonkeybunch.com.

The Power of Harriet T To Feb. 22. Young People's Theatre, 416-862-2222 or youngpeoplestheatre.ca.

Freckleface Strawberry To Feb. 24 (Sundays) Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747.

StinkyKids: The Musical To April 27 (Saturdays). Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

Report an error Licensing Options
About the Author

Brad Wheeler is an arts reporter with The Globe and Mail. More

Comments

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at privacy@globeandmail.com.