Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Bobrovsky, Lundqvist and Niemi up for Vezina Trophy

Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers and Antti Niemi of the San Jose Sharks

Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers is a finalist for the Vezina Trophy for a fifth time.

Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets and Antti Niemi of the San Jose Sharks were also named finalists Wednesday for the award given annually to the NHL's top goaltender.

Lundqvist, the reigning Vezina winner, tied for the NHL lead in regular-season wins, posting a 24-16-3 record with a 2.05 goals-against average and .926 save percentage.

Story continues below advertisement

He also tied for the league lead in starts with 43, ranked fifth in save percentage and seventh in goals-against average. Lundqvist helped clinch his seventh trip to the playoffs in eight NHL seasons by allowing two goals or less in 16 of his last 20 games.

Bobrovsky (21-11-6, 2.00 GAA, .932 save percentage and four shutouts) anchored Columbus's late-season surge that kept the club in contention for a playoff berth until the final moments of the season. He's up for the Vezina for the first time.

Niemi shared the NHL lead in starts (43), saw more ice time than any other goaltender (almost 2,600 minutes) and ranked third in shots faced (1,220) and saves (1,127).

He helped the Sharks post the league's sixth-best defensive record (2.33 goals-against per game) by going 24-12-6 with a 2.16 GAA, .924 save percentage and four shutouts. He finished tied for first overall in wins and seventh in save percentage.

Niemi is a Vezina finalist for the first time and is the fourth Finnish player in seven seasons to make the top three, joining Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff, Minnesota's Niklas Backstrom and Nashville's Pekka Rinne.

NHL general managers submitted ballots for the Vezina Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season. The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup final.

The finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award for most outstanding player as voted by the NHLPA will be announced Thursday.

Story continues below advertisement

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at