Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

NHL to hand out year-end awards during one hour television special

A selection of NHL awards

The NHL has abandoned its year-end awards gala and will reveal its list of major award winners during a one-hour television special before Game 2 of the Stanley Cup final.

The Hart, Calder, Norris and Vezina trophy winners along with the Ted Lindsay Award winners will be announced during the telecast. The recipients of the  Masterton, Selke, King Clancy, Lady Byng trophies, Jack Adams, Mark Messier NHL Leadership, NHL Foundation Player and the NHL General Manager of the Year awards will be announced during a separate broadcast the day before.

Sidney Crosby is nominated for three awards this year - the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance and dedication to hockey, the Ted Lindsay Award which is voted on by members of the NHLPA and the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's MVP. Alex Ovechkin (Hart, Ted Lindsay), Jonathan Toews (Selke, Messier) and Martin St. Louis (Ted Lindsay, Lady Byng) are each nominated for two awards.

Story continues below advertisement

Report an error Licensing Options

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨