Skip to main content

Corey Perry #10 of the Anaheim Ducks sets for a face off against the Los Angeles Kings at Honda Center on April 8, 2011 in Anaheim, California. The Ducks won 2-1 to clinch a berth in the playoffs. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)

Stephen Dunn/2011 Getty Images

Tonight was the deadline for the 150-plus members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to vote on various NHL awards, as the playoffs get going and the regular-season trophies will be long forgotten until they're given out in late June.

I like to publish my ballot every year just for transparency, so here are my choices:

(1) NHL Trophies

Story continues below advertisement

HART TROPHY ("to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team") -- Five selections.

1. Corey Perry, Anaheim 2. Daniel Sedin, Vancouver 3. Tim Thomas, Boston 4. Jonathan Toews, Chicago 5. Shea Weber, Nashville

NORRIS TROPHY ("to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position") -- Five selections.

1. Shea Weber, Nashville 2. Lubomir Visnovsky, Anaheim 3. Nick Lidstrom, Detroit 4. Zdeno Chara, Boston 5. Duncan Keith, Chicago

CALDER TROPHY ("to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition") -- Five selections.

(Note: An eligible player cannot have played more than 25 NHL games in any single preceding season nor in six or more games in each of any two preceding seasons. A player must not have attained his 26th birthday by Sept. 15 of the season in which he is eligible.)

1. John Carlson, Washington 2. Jeff Skinner, Carolina 3. Michael Grabner, NY Islanders 4. Logan Couture, San Jose 5. Corey Crawford, Chicago

Story continues below advertisement

LADY BYNG TROPHY ("to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability") -- Five selections.

1. Nick Lidstrom, Detroit 2. Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis 3. Duncan Keith, Chicago 4. Lubomir Visnovsky, Anaheim 5. James Reimer, Toronto

SELKE TROPHY ("to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game") -- Five selections.

1. Manny Malhotra, Vancouver 2. Brooks Laich, Washington 3. Jonathan Toews, Chicago 4. Ryan Kesler, Vancouver 5. Tomas Plekanec, Montreal

(2) NHL All-Star Team

CENTER -- Three selections.

Story continues below advertisement

1. Jonathan Toews, Chicago 2. Henrik Sedin, Vancouver 3. Ryan Kesler, Vancouver

RIGHT WING -- Three selections.

1. Corey Perry, Anaheim 2. Marty St. Louis, Tampa Bay 3. Jarome Iginla, Calgary

LEFT WING -- Three selections.

1. Daniel Sedin, Vancouver 2. Alex Ovechkin, Washington 3. Patrick Sharp, Chicago

DEFENSE -- SIX selections.

1. Shea Weber, Nashville 2. Lubomir Visnovsky, Anaheim 3. Nick Lidstrom, Detroit 4. Zdeno Chara, Boston 5. Duncan Keith, Chicago 6. Marc Staal, NY Rangers

GOALTENDER -- Three selections.

1. Roberto Luongo, Vancouver 2. Tim Thomas, Boston 3. Pekka Rinne, Nashville

(3) NHL All-Rookie Team

FORWARD -- Three selections, regardless of position.

1. Jeff Skinner, Carolina 2. Michael Grabner, NY Islanders 3. Logan Couture, San Jose

DEFENSE -- Two selections.

1. John Carlson, Washington 2. Kevin Shattenkirk, St. Louis

GOAL -- One selection.

1. Corey Crawford, Chicago

Report an error
About the Author
Hockey Reporter

James joined The Globe as an editor and reporter in the sports department in 2005 and now covers the NHL and the Toronto Maple Leafs. More

Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at