Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Team Canada in Sochi: Ten stand out, the rest are a toss up

Team Canada celebrates after Sidney Crosby scored in overtime to give Canada the win over the U.S. in the gold-medal hockey game at the Vancouver Olympics.

Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail

How will Canada's 2014 men's Olympic team look in Sochi, assuming the NHL agrees to send its players? In a straw poll of six analysts conducted by The Globe and Mail, 10 players were unanimously chosen – six forwards (Sidney Crosby, Jonathan Toews, Claude Giroux, Corey Perry, Jordan Eberle and Steven Stamkos); three defencemen (Drew Doughty, Shea Weber and Alex Pietrangelo) and one goaltender (Carey Price).

After that, it was a free-for-all. Altogether, 23 forwards received at least one vote, as did 12 defencemen and five goalies. Steve Yzerman, who is back for a second term as the Canadian team's executive director, has a long "watch" list of players compiled last summer and chances are, all 40 remain in contention for the team.

Such is the depth of the Canadian program, especially at forward, where Canada could likely send two teams that would be competitive in the event. Moreover, Yzerman is not afraid to go off the board to make a selection that he feels confident in. His decision to include a 20-year-old defenceman, Drew Doughty, and a 21-year-old centre, Jonathan Toews, last time proved prescient. By the gold-medal game against the United States, Doughty was on the first defence pair alongside Duncan Keith. The International Ice Hockey Federation chose Toews Canada's individual most valuable player.

Story continues below advertisement

According to our panel, current form isn't much of a factor in their choices. It is what a player may do 10 months down the road, when the selections are announced. Among the Canadians in the top 20 of NHL scoring, players such as the San Jose Sharks' Patrick Marleau and Joe Thornton, both of whom played on the 2010 gold-medal winning team, didn't receive a single vote. Nor did two mainstays of Yzerman's Tampa Bay Lightning team, veterans Martin St. Louis and Vincent Lecavalier.

As one voter noted, Yzerman's history with selecting the 2010 team suggests that while he isn't afraid to take a young player, he won't "pick a young guy just because he's having individual success. Also, with Steve, he ranks players by seeing them in 'big moments' – how they handle critical situations and being in winning environments."

Beyond the 10 unanimous choices, Rick Nash, Eric Staal and Patrice Bergeron were all listed on five of six ballots among forwards, while James Neal was listed on four and John Tavares on three. Defensively, Duncan Keith, Marc Staal and Michael Del Zotto were selected on five ballots, while Brent Seabrook was named on four. In goal, Cam Ward received five votes, while Roberto Luongo and Marc-André Fleury were tied with three votes each.

Eight of Canada's 13 forwards are natural centres, but every voter had the same essential idea and placed Stamkos and Eric Staal on the wings. Bergeron, Tyler Seguin and Patrick Sharp can all shift to the wing as needed as well.

"You can't have too many players playing out of position unless they have some experience doing it," said Dave King, a three-time men's Olympic coach.

Nash, Crosby, Perry, Eric Staal, Toews, Bergeron, Keith, Doughty, Weber, Seabrook and Luongo were all members of Canada's 2010 gold-medal winning team.

A look at how the 23-man team might look:

Story continues below advertisement


Rick Nash-Sidney Crosby-Steven Stamkos

Eric Staal-Jonathan Toews-Jordan Eberle

James Neal-Claude Giroux-Corey Perry

John Tavares-Patrice Bergeron-Tyler Seguin

Patrick Sharp

Story continues below advertisement

Other forwards receiving votes: Taylor Hall, Jamie Benn, Logan Couture, Milan Lucic, Mike Richards, Jarome Iginla, Jeff Skinner, Ryan Getzlaf, Matt Duchene, Brad Richards.


Duncan Keith-Drew Doughty

Marc Staal-Shea Weber

Michael Del Zotto-Alex Pietrangelo

Brent Seabrook

Other defencemen receiving votes: Kris Letang, Dan Hamhuis, P.K. Subban, Tyler Myers, Brent Burns.


Carey Price, Cam Ward, Roberto Luongo, Marc-André Fleury (tie)

Other goaltender receiving votes: Mike Smith


Dave King, former NHL coach and three-time Canadian men's Olympic hockey coach.

Craig Button, former NHL general manager and TSN analyst.

Darren Pang, former NHL goalie and St. Louis Blues' colour commentator

Mike Johnson, former NHL forward and TSN analyst.

Mike Rogers, former NHL forward and Rogers Sportsnet analyst.

Kelly Hrudey, former NHL goalie and Hockey Night In Canada analyst.

What would your Team Canada look like? Build your own team here.

Report an error Licensing Options
About the Author

Eric was the winner of the Hockey Hall Of Fame's Elmer Ferguson award for "distinguished contributions to hockey writing" in 2001. A graduate of the University of Western Ontario's grad school of journalism, he began covering hockey in 1978 and after spending 20 years covering the NHL and the Calgary Flames, joined The Globe in 2000. More


The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at