Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Still to qualify, Canada sees what lies ahead at 2105 Rugby World Cup

New Zealand's Kurt Baker, left, fights for the ball against Samoa's Lio Lolo during their Sevens World Series Cup final rugby match at The Sevens stadium in Dubai December 1, 2012.


Canada will be in a 2015 Rugby World Cup pool with France, Ireland, Italy and a European qualifier if it gets past the U.S. in a home-and-away playoff next summer.

The draw was held this morning at the Tate Modern art gallery in London.

The top 12 teams in the world rankings have already qualified for the 2015 tournament in England. Canada is looking to be one of the eight qualifiers to join them.

Story continues below advertisement

The winner of the Canada-U.S. playoff qualifies as Americas 1 and will play in Pool D.

The loser moves on to a home-and-away series with a South American team to determine who will be Americas 2.

The loser of that playoff has a last-chance qualification route via a repechage.

The pools drawn today are:

Group A: Australia, England, Wales, Oceania 1, repechage winner

Group B: South Africa, Samoa, Scotland, Asia 1, Americas 2

Group C: New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga, Europe 1, Africa 1

Story continues below advertisement

Group D: France, Ireland, Italy, Americas 1, Europe 2

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨