Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Carli Lloyd wins second-straight FIFA best female player award

Houston Dash and U.S. midfielder Carli Lloyd is presented with the Women’s Player of 2016 Award by former Argentine footballer Gabriel Batistuta on January 9, 2017 in Zurich.


Carli Lloyd of the United States has won her second straight FIFA's best woman player award.

Lloyd beat Olympic gold medallist Melanie Behringer of Germany and five-time winner Marta of Brazil.

Lloyd says "I honestly was not expecting this."

Story continues below advertisement

Germany did win the women's coaching awards as Silvia Neid earned her second FIFA prize. She also won the 2010 award.

Neid beat two previous winners: Pia Sundhage of Sweden, the Olympic silver medallist , and last year's winner, Jill Ellis of the United States.

Canadian captain Christine Sinclair voted for Behringer, with Germany's Dzsenifer Marozsan her second-choice followed by France's Amandine Henry. Canada coach John Herdman went for Sinclair, followed by Behringer and Sweden's Lotta Schelin.

Sinclair chose Herdman as top coach, followed by Neid and Sundhage. Herdman chose Sundhage, followed by Neid and former South Africa coach Vera Pauw.

Report an error Licensing Options

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨