Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Charmaine Hooper, Andrea Neil to enter Canada's Soccer Hall of Fame

Canada's Charmaine Hooper celebrates as the Canada Women's national soccer team defeats Costa Rica 4-0 for third place in the Olympic Qualifying Tournament for the Confederation of North America, Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF) in Heredia, Costa Rica, 20 kilometers north of the capital of San Jose, Friday, March 5, 2004.

KENT GILBERT/Associated Press

Charmaine Hooper and Andrea Neil lead the new class of inductees for Canada's Soccer Hall of Fame.

They will be joined by former men's internationals Carlo Corazzin and Mark Watson.

Builders headed to the Hall are Angus Barrett and Gordon Arrowsmith while the late John Richardson gets the Pioneer Award.

Story continues below advertisement

The team of distinction is the 1989 Canadian men's side that won gold at the Francophone Games.

The organization of distinction is the Victoria West club.

The induction ceremony is set for June in Toronto.

Report an error
Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Combined Shape Created with Sketch.

Thank you!

You are now subscribed to the newsletter at

You can unsubscribe from this newsletter or Globe promotions at any time by clicking the link at the bottom of the newsletter, or by emailing us at