Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Solo, Wambach, Marta up for player of the year

Brazil's striker Marta (L) vies for the ball with Norway's defender Trine Ronning (R) during the Group D football match of the FIFA women's football World Cup Brazil vs Norway in Wolfsburg, central Germany, on July 3, 2011.


United States goalkeeper Hope Solo and forward Abby Wambach were nominated on Tuesday for the 2011 FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award, competing with five-time winner Marta of Brazil.

Japan, the 2011 Women's World Cup winner, has Homare Sawa, the player of the tournament and top scorer in Germany, and Aya Miyama on the shortlist of 10 candidates.

U.S. forward Alex Morgan is the third member of the World Cup runner-up team to be nominated. France playmaker Louisa Necib also made the list chosen by FIFA officials and journalists selected by "France Football" magazine.

Story continues below advertisement

Marta, who helped the Western New York Flash win the Women's Professional Soccer title last season, is seeking to win the FIFA award for a sixth straight year. She is the only player selected from the Brazil squad eliminated by the U.S. in the World Cup quarterfinals.

Japan coach Norio Sasaki and the U.S. team's Swedish coach Pia Sundhage are among 10 candidates for the best coach of a women's team in 2011. Sasaki is one of seven men on the list.

Award organizers FIFA and "France Football" will reveal the final three candidates on Dec. 5.

FIFA will announce the 10-candidate lists next Tuesday to win the men's Golden Ball and best coach awards

The winners will be announced Jan. 9 at the FIFA Gala in Zurich.

Voting is by national team coaches and captains plus selected journalists.

Report an error
Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.