Skip to main content

Norwegian referee Cristina Pedersen ruled Canadian goalkeeper Erin Mcleod  had violated FIFA's six second rule which resulted in a controversial call and eventual equalizing goal by the United States in Monday's women's Olympic semi-final.

Armando Franca/The Associated Press

A look at the FIFA rule book and why Norwegian referee Cristiana Pederson awarded the United States a costly free kick in inside the Canadian penalty area in Monday's women's Olympic soccer semi-final:

LAW 12 - Fouls and misconduct

Offences committed by goalkeepers

Story continues below advertisement

A goalkeeper is not permitted to keep control of the ball in his hands for more than six seconds. A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball:

- while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g. ground own body)

- while holding the ball in his outstretched open hand

- while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air

Report an error Licensing Options
Comments

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨